Light of my Life

Car shopping…

Posted on: May 23, 2009

Sigh… car shopping is SO not fun. I mentioned in yesterday’s 7QTF that I had pretty much settled on a nice, used, (relatively) cheap, bare bones Honda Pilot. I was kind of happy in a way that I felt so blah about the car. I mean, it’s just a car, right? We can’t really afford a new car, so I knew I needed to be satisfied with a used car (which we also can’t afford). So I was convinced that the Pilot was the way to go, and I felt like I was in a good position to negotiate, since I felt 100% ready to walk away if the guy wouldn’t give me the price I wanted. (I really didn’t CARE whether I bought that car or not!!)

Well, David convinced me to test drive a Toyota Sienna, just to see what it was like. So I did that today, and I really liked it. Much more than the Pilot, actually. I’m really not hot on driving a minivan, but it sure was nice and spacious and luxurious. Lots of features that I don’t need. Did you know the back windows open like in a regular sedan? Cool! I guess. It was $20,000. Did I mention how badly I do NOT want a car loan??? And I’ll have a terrible time negotiating the price since the guy knows I love it.

This is just not fun at all.

2 Responses to "Car shopping…"

Siennas are really nice (and reliable!), as are Odesseys, but I don’t think they are really all they are cracked up to be – they are so dang expensive!! we love our Mazda MPV, 2001 model – we bought it on eBay, actually!! It was only $4000 and had low mileage when we got it… and the windows roll down in the middle row in it, too 😉 I thought that was so cool. It has “stow-n-go” seating in the back row, too. We have been very satisfied with it except for the limited storage space behind the third row (but it has a luggage rack). I think that a minivan is a minivan, and some are more basic than others, but what matters most is that they have enough seats and are reliable… and that they are affordable!

I don’t know much about the Pilot, but Honda makes it, right? that means it is probably very reliable.

Good luck with your decision! I agree about a car loan… ick. The car is worth so much less than you have to end up paying.

Car payments are no fun at all. Have you checked out carmax? Don’t know if you have one near you or not, but I know my sil got a great deal on a used minivan. It’s a dodge caravan with all the bells and whistles for $12,000. And they give you the lowest price period so you don’t need to deal with the whole haggling garbage. Much luck on figuring this one out. If it’s any consolation, we’ll be right behind you on trying to find a car in the next year or so 😦

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
