Light of my Life

Handwriting Class

Posted on: May 9, 2009

Logan writes amazingly well, considering he is five years old and completely taught himself. Here is an example of a note he wrote to David a week or two ago. He did this all on his own; I didn’t even know he was writing it.

005

Pretty impressive for a kid his age, if you ask me. But he has always started most of his letters from the bottom, which makes them sloppier than letters started at the top, and he has never had any awareness of writing on the line. Also if you look at his lowercase a’s, they look like 2’s. There are some other quirks as well. It’s all very cute, and while I certainly don’t want to be a handwriting nazi, I do want to set him on the path to quick, neat writing.

My first idea was to try CHC’s starter handwriting book.

002

Also really not bad, I know. But he still wasn’t paying attention to the lines, and it was rather challenging for him. So, on the recommendation of his occupational therapist, I decided to try Handwriting Without Tears.

Check this out. This is day ONE of lowercase letters.

001

003

004

What’s really wonderful is how much he LOVES the program. He looks forward to practicing each day, and he even loves the cute, cheesy song about starting letters at the top.

This program is a real winner in my book. I will definitely use it with Carrie in a couple of years, too. I highly recommend it.

2 Responses to "Handwriting Class"

What a drastic improvement. Way to go Logan! I’ve seen tremendous improvement with my princess from using the handwriting without tears program.
Sue

Wow! I am impressed with his writing!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
