Light of my Life

Time to get a Wii bit more fit

Posted on: February 16, 2009

I am proud to say that I’ve lost most of my pregnancy weight. I still have a few pounds to go, though, and ideally I’d like to lose another 10 or so besides. So today, I embarked on a new fitness adventure – Wii Fit! We just bought a Wii a few days ago with our tax refund. David and the kids have been enjoying the games, but the main reason I wanted it was to add some activity to my day. It’s just difficult to find a way to exercise when you’ve got small children, you know? I’d love to walk outside, but not when it’s hot or cold out, and not with 3 little ones in tow. We have a Y membership, but it’s impossible to find a time to go alone. And the elliptical clothes hanger trainer in the spare bedroom is really just a joke.

So, Wii Fit it is. I can work out a little bit here and there, whenever I have time throughout the day.

I know from past experience that when I’m exercising, I’m much more inclined to eat healthfully. There’s something about a good workout that makes sugar sound repulsive and a salad, divine. The more I exercise, the more I only want good, healthy foods in my body. And the bonus advantage with Wii Fit is that I can do it anytime, a few minutes at a time, to keep those health food cravings coming. Whenever I get a craving for sugar (and believe me, I get a lot of them!), I can jump on the Wii instead and wait for the craving to pass, or better yet, morph into a carrot craving.

Who knows, maybe this is just wishful thinking, but I’m feeling hopeful! I’ll keep y’all posted on my progress. Wish me luck… 🙂

1 Response to "Time to get a Wii bit more fit"

Ooohhh – great idea! We have the same difficulties here, we walk most days if it isn’t extreme temp wise, but what I love to do most is those cheesy Richard Simmons exercise videos [you know, “Disco Sweat” and such LOL!]. The kids get SUCH a kick out of those and will do them with me!

I am definitely coveting the Wii though -maybe next year!

Good job losing the weight and getting healthy – that’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
