Light of my Life

Easy Bake Fun

Posted on: December 16, 2008

A while back, Logan used some of his birthday money to buy an Easy Bake Oven. The box says they’re for ages 8 and up, but I decided I’d just supervise like crazy. And supervise, I do. I’m embarrassed to admit that sometimes my “supervision” borders on “taking over” the project. I’m trying to work on that, I promise. “Hello, my name is Erin, and I’m a perfectionist and a control freak.” So far, he doesn’t seem to mind. He’s the kind of kid who doesn’t like to do anything until he knows he can do it perfectly. If he thinks he can’t, he wants me to do it for him. And sometimes I’m a bit too eager to comply. We’re both working on that.

But anyway, I digress. Logan had a packet of sugar cookie mix and also a leftover packet of chocolate frosting that was supposed to go with a yellow cake. We decided to make the cookies and frost them! I find the recipes quite amusing: “Add 3/4 teaspoon water to the mix and stir.” 3/4 teaspoon, really? Well. There goes my water bill… “Form dough into six small balls and flatten.” SMALL doesn’t even begin to describe it. Still, it was lots of fun and they actually turned out quite tasty, if a bit crunchy (i.e., overcooked – man, that is one powerful light bulb!).

Look how proud of his creation he looks! Yes, I made him wear the apron. 😉

logan

2 Responses to "Easy Bake Fun"

Awww…we have one of those. I don’t have any of “easy bake age” right now…so it’s stashed away. Well, I guess Kain is, but he doesn’t have the interest. Anyway, hey, those little jiffy mixes work well for easy baking, FYI,,,cheaper than buying more easy bake stuff. 🙂

I’m glad you “digressed” and shared your perfectionism. Gives me comfort to know I’m not the only one struggling to work on my tendency to take over my daughter’s projects as well! I get randomly anal about things and have to stop myself! 🙂 We’ll keep struggling through.

So glad the little lightbulb still cooks! I recall my Easy Bake from back in the day!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
