Light of my Life

Giving Thanks and Thanksgiving Dinner

Posted on: November 26, 2008

I have many, many things for which I thank God this Thanksgiving. In particular, I am grateful for all of my family and friends, my warm and cozy house, my kitchen that’s always full of good foods, my good health and the good health of my loved ones; and a lifetime of memories of happy, warm Thanksgivings.

God has blessed our family abundantly; I hope as my children grow, they will recognize His love and always remember those less fortunate.

I’m hosting Thanksgiving dinner this year. That means I have to make the whole meal by MYSELF.* How exciting! Want to know what we’re having? Of course you do, that’s why you’re still reading!

Appetizers:
Hot Spiced Apple Cider
Spinach and Artichoke Dip
Bagel Chips
Sharp Cheddar Cheese and Crackers

Main Course:
Turkey
Stuffing
Mashed Potatoes and Gravy
Broccoli Casserole
Sweet Potato Casserole
Cranberry Sauce
Red Cabbage
Corn Pudding
Raspberry Jello
Dinner Rolls

Dessert:
Apple Pie
Pumpkin Pie

This is pretty much the classic menu for my family. The broccoli casserole gets a little bit bigger each year, but it’s still never enough. My mouth is watering at the thought of all this food!

* Okay, not by myself. My mom will be here, cooking right along with me. In fact, she’ll probably do most of the work. And David always cores, peels, and slices the apples for the pie. But other than that, it’s all me.
2 Responses to "Giving Thanks and Thanksgiving Dinner"

Your menu sounds good!! especially the appetizers… I love appetizers!

I hope everybody’s health improved enough for you to enjoy the meal today!

Ok, but share the broccoli casserole recipe! 🙂
Yum,,,spinach artichoke dip….

I’m way behind on my google reader, can you tell?

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
