Light of my Life

Potty training, take two

Posted on: November 3, 2008

A couple of days ago when I went to change Carrie’s diaper, I realized we only had one left. Normally I would have rushed out to the store to buy more, but size 7 diapers are insanely expensive, you know? And the budget is tight. And she is three years old now and seems fully aware of her bodily eliminations. So I decided on a different tactic this time: I told her matter-of-factly that the diapers were all gone, so she’d have to start wearing underwear and using the potty all the time.

(Then I went out and secretly bought one more package… just in case.)

So far, it seems to be working. Amazing! She’s in underwear all day, except when she has to poop – but we’ve been there, done that. She has not had an accident yet.

We’re using the M&M incentive again, but loosely – if she doesn’t ask, we won’t offer it. Often enough, it seems the praise we give her is reward enough.

I’m really encouraged. To have just one in diapers would be fantastic. (To save us even more money, maybe I’ll even get back into sewing cloth diapers for Kayla.) We’ll see how things go!

2 Responses to "Potty training, take two"

Yay Carrie! She sounds like she’s doing great!

Nothing to it but to do it! She can do it, Erin! You just have to make the decision FOR her that she is DONE with diapers!!!! Think of the Starbucks you could buy with that extra money!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
