Light of my Life

Mmmm… chicken

Posted on: October 29, 2008

Thanks to our ongoing economic crisis, I almost had to cancel Rotisserie-Style Chicken Night (see my dinner menu on the right). Then at the store this morning I found a whole chicken marked way down because its sell-by date is tomorrow. No problem, I’m serving it tonight! Hooray!

It’s cooking in the crock pot right now. Mmmmm… smells delicious! Here’s the “before” picture:

We’ll see how it goes. I got the recipe here. I’m also attempting to make a loaf of bread. It’s been a couple years since I’ve made one – that is, if you don’t count yesterday’s disastrous attempt. I hope things go more smoothly today! If it all looks good, I’ll post some “after” shots. 🙂

***UPDATE: Here are the “after” shots. 🙂

The bread turned out nicely, though next time I’ll glaze the top with egg yolk or milk to get a nice shiny crust.

The chicken was literally falling off the bones. To be honest, I thought it was tender, but I didn’t actually like the flavor that much. Everyone else did, though. There are no leftovers. 🙂

2 Responses to "Mmmm… chicken"

What a beautiful loaf of bread! How’d you get such a perfect shape?

Must be trick photography; it was definitely lopsided. 😉

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
