Light of my Life

I declare myself tagged

Posted on: October 26, 2008

I was perusing Melanie’s blog and thought this sounded fun. I’ve never been tagged and I’ve never tagged anyone else, but she said I can tag myself. 🙂 So here goes!

The rule is, grab the closest book, turn to page 56, start with the 5th sentence and post 2-5 paragraphs.

I’m sitting by a bookshelf, so I just reached out without looking and grabbed one.

Use this to your advantage: expose your child to bright light first thing in the morning. Daylight is most powerful. So set up your child’s breakfast, morning cuddle, or the wake-up breast-feeding in a room with windows. If you don’t have such a room or if the morning is dark outside, start your child’s day in a well-lit area of the house.

As much as bright light is your child’s biological Go button, darkness is the Stop button. Darkness causes an increase in the release of melatonin, the body’s natural sleep hormone. You can help align your child’s sleepiness with his bedtime by dimming the lights in your home during the hour or two before bedtime.

Use night-lights judiciously. Choose small and dim ones. If possible, select a night-light that emits a more blue tone of light (like moonlight) rather than yellow (like sunlight). When you understand the power of light and dark as biological signals, you can see that a bright night-light glowing in your child’s bedroom can be counterproductive to helping her sleep soundly all night. When she wakes between her sleep cycles, that night-light actually can push her Go button–even a very dim light and even if it’s 2:00 A.M. You can also see that if your child wakes in the night for a diaper change, a bottle, or a trip to the potty, things like turning lights on or opening the refrigerator and flooding the room with light can accidentally signal morning’s arrival.

Wow, how appropriate. I have been wanting to work on my children’s sleep habits for some time now. So now I’m going to go sit down and read the rest of Elizabeth Pantley’s “the no-cry sleep solution for toddlers and preschoolers.” I’ll report back in a month to say how well her techniques have worked.

Now, um, how do I tag someone?

Hey, you there! Hey-yes, you! No, not you with the hat. YOU, with the glasses. Consider yourself tagged!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
