Light of my Life

One month

Posted on: August 30, 2008

Kayla is one month old today. I’ll try to add a picture to this post tomorrow. She is wonderful and I love her to pieces, but she is not an easy baby by any stretch of the imagination. She cries pretty much all the time. She’s crying right now (in Daddy’s arms; Mommy needed a break). I would not quite call her colicky, and at least she’s a pretty decent sleeper at night, but she’s definitely challenging. She’s my first baby that doesn’t always nurse to sleep, but I don’t know if that’s a blessing or a curse, as there often isn’t any good way to get her to go to sleep. She is the first baby I have ever let cry herself to sleep, because sometimes there just isn’t any other way. (Usually this means she cries herself to sleep in my arms, not alone.)

I’m also exhausted and a bit overwhelmed because this past week I resumed my work-at-home job, and next week I’ll start homeschooling Logan. How I’m going to manage all this plus running a happy household, I have no idea. After I catch up with the work I fell behind on while on “maternity leave”, I should only need to devote an hour a day to my job and maybe 2 hours to formal homeschooling (probably not even that much, since this is just kindergarten), which leaves the rest of the day for informal schooling, housework, etc. But right now Kayla takes up pretty much all my time, so I’m not sure just how I’m going to get anything else done.

(Did I mention she’s back in my arms? Break’s over.)

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
