Light of my Life

Home, sweet home

Posted on: June 16, 2008

You might not have even known that we left, but thank goodness we are home! We just got back from a wonnnnnnderful visit to Wisconsin. I hadn’t been there since my grandma’s 90th birthday party over 3 years ago, so I was long overdue for a visit. Originally David wasn’t going to come along, but it worked out that he was able to, and I thank God for his presence this weekend, because I don’t know if I would have made it without him there to help with the kids. Traveling with a 2-year-old and a 4-year-old while 33 weeks pregnant was utterly exhausting!

We left at 6am last Friday. I was hoping the kids would sleep for the first several hours of the trip. But they both woke up as soon as we put them in the car, and they stayed awake for most of the trip. We had lots of snacks and activities for them, and things went pretty smoothly until we reached Chicago. The traffic in Chicago was horrific, even worse than it usually is. Then, I made a wrong turn on the way to my grandma’s house, so we ended up going out of our way a bit. We spent a good 4 hours visiting Nana, then we fought the Illinois construction traffic as we made our way up to Wisconsin. I think it was after 10 when we finally reached our hotel in New Berlin that night.

The weekend was fantastic, though. We visited with my brother and his family, did some shopping, took a few drives down Nostalgia Lane (i.e., drove by the house I grew up in), and swam in the hotel pool. On Sunday we went to Mass at Tom’s church, and the newly ordained deacon who was preaching his first homily literally brought me to tears with his thoughts on what we will face at our final judgment. Really made you want to turn your life around and watch every word, deed, and thought!

After all that fun, we started on our way home this morning. Since the early rising didn’t seem to work so well on the way up, we let the kids sleep in, hoping they’d be in better spirits on the drive home if they were well rested. So much for that idea. Most of the activities that had been new and exciting on the way up were old hat now. They weren’t so interested in the healthy snacks this time – they wanted chips and pop tarts instead of cheese and organic yogurt. Oh well, we let things slide in hopes that the trip would go smoothly. And all things considered, I think it did – although by the end we were all rather tired and cranky and just ready to get home.

Home. That’s where I am now, writing this from the warm comfort of my own bed. Of course, in a few minutes I have to run to the grocery store so we’ll have milk and bread tomorrow, but at least for a few moments, I’ll soak in the peace and serenity of this moment. Home, sweet home.

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
