Light of my Life

He did it!

Posted on: June 5, 2008

I’m so proud of my boy! Last night Logan, motivated by the plethora of rewards we’ve been offering him for months, decided he was bound and determined to overcome his fears (most notably his fear of becoming a zombie) and poop on the potty! It took him a good 45 minutes to an hour, and he kept wanting to give up, but it was if he could feel the fluffy softness of that Li’l Kinz in his hands…

He was actually quite the little negotiator about it. When he asked for a diaper and David responded by asking if he didn’t want to poop on the potty instead and get a new Webkinz, he thought for a minute and said, “If I poop on the potty, I’ll get a new Webkinz, my dog game, and my drawing program.”

Somehow we were convinced to agree with this? I’m not sure what I was thinking. (Maybe that I’d had enough of changing a 4 1/2-year-old’s dirty diapers?) The Webkinz was easy enough, and Grandpa had long ago promised to buy him the dog game. But the drawing program he wants is Art Dabbler, and old CD ROM I found when we were cleaning out the spare room. It was designed for Windows 95 and doesn’t even work on XP or Vista, so I threw it in the trash last week. I guess when I told him last night that he could have it, I was bluffing. I didn’t think he’d really do it. Well, he’s calling my bluff. And all of this seems like an awfully big reward for something he ought to be doing by now anyway. But somehow, I couldn’t be happier.

1 Response to "He did it!"

[…] working. Amazing! She’s in underwear all day, except when she has to poop – but we’ve been there, done that. She has not had an accident […]

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
