Light of my Life

Cleaning house

Posted on: May 27, 2008

I haven’t had much time for blogging lately. We’ve been working really hard on the house, even though we decided not to sell, thanks to the state of the housing market around here. But if we’re going to stay in this small house, we have to use every square inch of space, so I’m on a cleaning/decluttering mission. The playroom will become Logan’s bedroom/playroom. The spare room has been stripped of its desk and computer (they’re in the great room now) and will soon lose its bookshelves, guest bed, exercise machine, and all the junk, so that it can become a bedroom/playroom for the girls. Every closet WILL be used with greatest efficiency. The laundry room will be reorganized. The garage will be cleared of all its junk. Even the kitchen drawers and cabinets will be reorganized and decluttered.

Unfortunately, before much of this work can be done, these home improvement projects we’ve started must be completed. We’ve made tons of progress in the last several weeks, so there are really only small jobs left, such as filling nail holes, touching up paint, sealing grout, etc., but it still takes time to do all these things. And as my pregnancy progresses (as of today, only 9 weeks and 5 days till my due date), it gets harder and harder for me to work on these things. Yet I feel a sense of urgency to do as much as possible before the baby comes, because once she’s here, there will be no time for these projects for several months at least. I don’t want to be sitting in a chair, nursing the baby, and feeling anxious because I know how messy the garage is.

So, add to all of that the regular stresses of everyday life – raising and caring for the kids, keeping the house in some semblance of order, going to all of Logan’s appointments, keeping up with my work-from-home job, and everything else that’s just a part of life – and you can see how my blog has been pushed to a back burner. There’s a lot to do right now, but life is full, life is rich, and I’m loving every minute of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
