Light of my Life

Potty training… not as cheap as you’d think

Posted on: April 4, 2008

Now that both kids are really getting the hang of this potty business, we are finally saving money on diapers. Isn’t that great? But what we never expected was all the ways potty training would actually cost us more money:

  • Water, soap, and toilet paper. The kids love to flush every time they use the potty, and they insist on washing their hands quite thoroughly. (I’m not saying this is a bad thing.)
  • Food. (Those m&m rewards cost money!)
  • Bathroom cleaner. Nearly every time I go in there, I have to wipe down the potty seat where someone (ahem, Carrie!) has “missed” a little.
  • Laundry detergent. Between accidents and the constant hand-drying that accompanies the constant hand-washing, I’m washing loads of hand towels and underwear.
  • Floor cleaner. For those times when they don’t quite make it to the bathroom in time, or for nights like last night, when Carrie got mad at me and deliberately peed all over the kitchen floor.

I know someday they’ll totally get the hang of this. I’m pretty sure we won’t go broke in the process, but you never know.

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
