Light of my Life

Potty mouth

Posted on: March 25, 2008

I’ve been too worn out and weary to post anything for several days now. And what do I have to say today? Nothing more than potty talk.

I’ve spent the day supervising potty runs. Every few minutes it seems like one of the kids just has to go potty. Of course they don’t really have to go every time, but am I willing to take a chance? At one point I locked myself in the computer room to steal a few solitary moments of peace. Before I knew it, I heard, “Mommy, I really have to go!” I ran out of the room to rush Logan to the potty, and he said, “Well, actually I already went… on the floor.”

Oh, joy.

Carrie still insists she has to go potty whenever she sees Logan sitting there. She only really has to go about 25% of the time, but again, it’s not a risk I’m willing to take. And one time today, she insisted she had to go just minutes after using the potty; though I was inclined to insist that she really didn’t need to go again, I let her. And what do you know, she had a different sort of deposit to make.

(Sorry, I’m trying not to be too vulgar in my frank discussion of children and their bodily processes.)

The good news is their hands have never been cleaner. (Half the fun of potty time is washing their hands afterward, which they both do very thoroughly!)

And one other nice little note – the reward for pottying is usually a set number of m&m’s; but upon completion of Carrie’s last successful attempt, when I offered her a dish of m&m’s, she declined and asked to share my orange instead. My little health nut!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
