Light of my Life

The Food Experiment

Posted on: February 12, 2008

Logan could easily win the title for World’s Most Resistant Eater, or at least World’s Pickiest Eater. He only likes a few foods, and even those few foods often have little bits with textures that do not agree with him, causing him to gag and spit them out. For the long term, I’m reading “Just Take a Bite” by Lori Ernsperger to come up with a plan to help him overcome his eating difficulties. For the short term, I’m trying out several recipes from “The Sneaky Chef” by Missy Chase Lapine to see if I can get some nutrients in him.

Yesterday’s experiment was breakfast cookies. They have whole wheat flour, wheat germ, and low-fat ricotta cheese in them, and let me just say they taste fantastic. I was thrilled when Logan ate one and actually asked for another. But after one or two bites of the second one, he handed it back to me and said “It’s yuck.” Now he won’t touch the breakfast cookies.

Today we tried pizza bagels. They were really packed with good foods – white beans, carrots, sweet potatoes, apples, and tomatoes (of course). Carrie devoured hers. Heck, I devoured mine – they were delicious! Logan ate half of one, then declared that he couldn’t eat the sauce, and wouldn’t eat another bite. I know it wasn’t the taste of the sauce that bothered him, because he does the same thing with regular pizza.

So, that’s two failed experiments, although he did get some nutrition in him since he ate a little of each food. Tomorrow we try The Big One: mac and cheese. I have high hopes, because if none of these recipes work, I’ll have to start giving him PediaSure or something. Far from the ideal way to get some nutrition in him, but it’s better than nothing.

1 Response to "The Food Experiment"

That’s a bummer. I hope you find some experiments that work. Do you like “The Sneaky Chef” book? The two recipes you mentioned sound nutritious!

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
