Light of my Life

The End, but not really

Posted on: September 8, 2007

I decided to go off the diet. It was too restrictive for someone like me who has all sorts of weird health issues. I was especially having trouble keeping my blood sugar levels up, so I decided it wasn’t a good fit for me. But I’m not going back to my old eating habits. I’m still trying to learn a big lesson about moderation and control. And I think I’m getting somewhere. Yesterday I brought my dad some coffee from Starbucks, and I fully intended on buying one for myself, too. But just before I ordered, I decided I really didn’t need one, as much as my brain kept telling me I wanted one. I didn’t get it. I drank water instead. I’ve also eaten out a few times and have had only modest portions instead of pigging out like I usually do. And there have been several times when I really wanted to eat out, but I found something healthy at home instead.

Yippee! These things might sound small, but they are big victories for me. I’m finally finding the strength to refrain from eating every tasty-looking thing I see. (Giving credit where credit is due, I am not doing this of my own power, but God is giving me the strength. I know because I’ve tried plenty of times without His help and couldn’t do it.)

David, for the record, is still going strong on the diet. He’s doing fantastic and has now lost 9 pounds.

And yes, I ate a fudgy wudgy bar, and it was absolutely heavenly.

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
