Light of my Life

A real weight loss plan?

Posted on: September 4, 2007

I know I joked before about how getting strep throat twice in one month helped me to lose a few pounds. But both times I gained the weight back. And since I really don’t want to rely on a dangerous bacteria for a long-term weight loss method, I decided it was time to find a better way.

So David and I are embarking on the Fat Flush Plan. Well, sort of, anyway. Since I’m breastfeeding 2 kids, I can’t exactly follow an 1100-calorie-a-day plan. And since David gets several hours of exercise every day, he can’t either. So we’re taking the basic principles and modifying the plan to fit our lifestyles. We’re drinking diluted cranberry juice and hot water with lemon, and we’re cutting out dairy, wheat, and sugar. We’re not limiting the quantity of food we eat at all, just the types.

Yesterday was Day 1. The first glass of cranberry juice wasn’t so bad, but by glass number four, I wanted to barf. The stuff is bitter! And the lemon juice in hot water made my throat burn. Add in headaches and irritability thanks to sugar and caffeine withdrawal, and we were both ready to quit last night.

I’ve been eating processed foods my whole life. This is not going to be an easy habit to break.

However, our motivation was somewhat renewed this morning when we stepped on the scale… in just one day, David lost four pounds and I lost three. Mostly water weight, I’m sure, because for the first day in a long time, I didn’t spend most of the day feeling bloated and uncomfortable. I’ve always known I was sensitive and/or allergic to dairy, but I just like cheese so darn much that I’ve never been interested in cutting it out of my diet. But seeing how good I can feel when I don’t drink milk might just motivate me to cut it out of my diet permanently. Maybe.

I’ve also started to do something crazy – I’m eating when I feel hungry, as opposed to… well… all the time.

I don’t know if I’ll stick with this or not. I don’t have the best track record when it comes to healthy eating. But for now, at least, I’m trying to make a change, and so far it’s working.

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
