Light of my Life

If you need to lose a few pounds, come visit me…

Posted on: July 5, 2007

… but you have to hurry, I won’t be contagious much longer.

On Monday, I got sick very suddenly, first with a sore throat, then a fever which reached 102. By Wednesday, the fever reached 103, despite my attempts to lower it with Tylenol and Advil. I wasn’t getting any better, so I went to the ER. (Why do I always get sick when my doctor’s office is closed?) They did a throat culture, and I tested positive for strep throat.

I had it a few times as a kid, and it was never this bad. David actually had to stay home from work to take care of the children and me. For three days, I have been lying in bed, nearly delirious with pain. In particular, swallowing has been an excruciatingly painful endeavor. I’ve had to force myself to swallow as much water as possible, since the fever was dehydrating me, but food didn’t seem quite so important. I guess that’s why I have lost 4 pounds in 4 days.

I had just decided on Sunday, the day before I got sick, that it was time for me to lose about 10 pounds. This is not exactly the way I intended to start my diet, but I guess I’ll take whatever works, right? If you need to lose a few, I highly recommend infecting yourself with the streptococcus bacteria. As long as you think you can handle the pain, that is.

Leave a Reply

About Me


I'm Erin, a 32-year-old homeschooling mother of three, doing my best to raise my children in the Catholic faith... (more)

Archives

Pages

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
